81ud6w0e71lOn this installment I came to bring what comes to be what we can call my next following reading after the previous one of before.

I took a little longer that I would have liked because I’m also working on a jigsaw puzzle (this one as a matter of fact http://amzn.to/28Gca4j), but I am done with my next book “My grandma asked me to tell you she’s sorry” by Fredrik Backman (ISBN: 978-1501115073).

This book I got at Barnes and Noble and I got it because of the synopsis at the back cover, that more or less reads as follows:

“Elsa is seven, her grandmother is seventy seven and she’s crazy.

Crazy as just as a grandma can be and like any seven years old girl deserves. Crazy to the point of shooting a paintball gun from a balcony. When Elsa’s granny dies, she leaves a series of letters in which she apologizes with several people, whom would be going with Elsa in a journey that would teach Elsa who was her granny in reality.”

Now, as a plot this sounds really attractive, I was expecting something cheesy or corny perhaps, emotional and teary, even a self-improvement-like story of how a little kid overcomes the dead of her grandma and I have to confess that although it did moved me to tears a couple of times and it has it’s super emotional scenes, my biggest impression is that the book surprised me big time.

The history is very well driven, each page comes with a little story, in each character there is a life and the part that I liked the best is that is not predictable, maybe towards the end of the book, after 75% one starts to get the idea, but from the start to that point is without any doubt, an odyssey hand to hand with Elsa in her own search for the truth.

And speaking about writing, the style of this guy is really good. For times it would seem to be targeted to infants, up to the same style as Roald Dahl or even Lewis Carroll, although it has notes of more mature and actual language.

From past reviews, I realized that most of the time I focus on the good things, so to change that, I’ll tell you what was that I didn’t like.

That same feature of a little-more-mature-and-actual language makes the book vulnerable to time, in 10 years that my granddaughter wants to read the book, I’ll have to explain things that probably won’t be as usual for her as they are for me now.

Secondly, I am not able to identify what is the actual public the book is targeted to. At the beginning I thought that the book was for a young group of kids, like Narnia, but half way in the book I came to realize that the topics discussed may not be adequate for a little kid, but it is not to engaging for a group more mature or cynical.

Aside those two things, I’m really happy with the book. The author is from Sweden, like Stieg Larsson and my metal band of these days, Avatar; this is his second book that I’m aware of, and this year (2016) he published a third one that we can consider as a sequel of this one, different from the first one that up to my knowledge has nothing to do with it.